Introducing: The Wonderful World of Disco Polo!

polska polska

Those of you who have been following me for a while know that I used to speak some Polish (although not very well), thanks to my being tour guide in Krakow. It occurs to me that, in retrospect, had I not believed the “Critical Learning Period” stuff back when (it was in late 2012 that I got “deprogrammed”, thanks to me finding blogs and some friends telling me otherwise), Polish would be one of my strongest languages.

But it is what it is.

One thing that got me back into learning the language is one of my personal favorite musical sub-genres, known in Poland and elsewhere as “Disco Polo”.

Those who have studied Polish popular music of the contemporary era can detect distinct strands: one of which is before the fall of Communism (in which various groups such as Republika, Manaam, etc. dominated, exporting a lot of their music throughout the whole Eastern Bloc), and after it (which was influenced by dance music, especially from Italy, that is actually REALLY good study music!)

Come to think of it, I highly recommend listening to Disco Polo when studying! Guaranteed to make you get perfect scores on everything!

Anyhow, today is the first of April, causing me to reflect on new beginnings, and given that I haven’t written a lot about Polish culture in too much detail here, I thought that I’d share some songs for you to enjoy.

Here are some of my favorites:

“You’re Crazy!”

Jesteś szalona! x2

I. Miłość odchodzi – słyszę znów z twoich ust,
Zawsze prawda miała jakiś sens,
Te dni jak bajka, piękne jak tysiąc róż,
Ty się śmiałaś zawsze, no i cześć.

REF: Jesteś szalona, mówię ci,
Zawsze nią byłaś,
Skończysz wreszcie śnić?
Nie jesteś aniołem, mówię ci.
Jesteś szalona. x2

II. Na pożegnanie dajesz mi uśmiech swój,
Gdy odchodzisz wszystko burzy się,
Kochałem cię i twe szaleństwa, mocno tak,
Ty się śmiałaś zawsze, no i cześć.

REF: Jesteś szalona, mówię ci… x4

ENGLISH TRANSLATION: I’m lazy, have this one.

“You are Beautiful like a Million Dollars”

LYRICS (for those who obviously want to sing along = everyone, regardless of ability to read, speak or understand Polish)

Nadziei iskra pojawia się lecz czujesz tylko w sobie strach
Pieniądze mieć, bogatym być, słyszałem to już nie raz
Kadilaki, kobiety to moje podniety
Pieniądze i dziewczyna to moja dyscyplina

Ref.:
Jesteś piękna jak milion dolarów
Pragnę Cię jak milion dolarów
Jesteś sexy jak milion dolarów
Rozrywam Twoje ciało, bo ciągle mi jest mało Ciebie
I padam na kolana kobieto kochana
Nie będę już nigdy sam

Idę ulicą, spotykam ludzi, lecz widzę tylko Twoją twarz
Trącony łokciem padam na ziemię, miłości Ci nie mogę dać
Kadilaki, kobiety to moje podniety
Pieniądze i dziewczyna, to moja dyscyplina

Ref.:
Jesteś piękna jak milion dolarów
Pragnę Cię jak milion dolarów
Jesteś sexy jak milion dolarów
Rozrywam Twoje ciało, bo ciągle mi jest mało Ciebie
I padam na kolana kobieto kochana
Nie będę już nigdy sam

Jesteś piękna jak milion dolarów
Pragnę Cię jak milion dolarów
Jesteś sexy jak milion dolarów
I stracę Cię, i stracę Cię na pewno
I stracę Cię, i stracę Cię napewno

English Translation: Absolutely Nothing Original. I’ll write one if you guys beg me enough. Which will probably be in three minutes. By the way, still just as lazy.

 

Ah yes, a song about infidelity! A beacon of morality in these dark times!

“I’m Running Away from the Wife”

1. Och jak mnie boli głowa
A z boku znowu ona
Ciągle w swych farmazonach topi się
Już dłużej nie wytrzymam
I gdzie tu moja wina
Choć kiedyś ta dziewczyna inne nie
Kobieto weź ogarnij się
Za chwilę tu nie będzie mnie

Ja wychodzę z domu
Ciemną nocą po kryjomu
Uciekam od żony
Jej gadaniem już znudzony
Jadę na milano
Poflirtować z młodą panną
Bo gdy nie ma Ciebie
Jestem jak bóg młody w niebie (x2)

2. Już zaraz chyba skonam
Nade mną ciągle ona
Jak zwierzę rozwścieczona mówi że
To wszystko moja wina
A ona cud dziewczyna
Monolog swój zaczyna dręcząc mnie
Kobieto weź ogarnij się
Za chwilę tu nie będzie mnie

Ja wychodzę z domu
Ciemną nocą po kryjomu
Uciekam od żony
Jej gadaniem już znudzony
Jadę na milano
Poflirtować z młodą panną
Bo gdy nie ma Ciebie
Jestem jak bóg młody w niebie (x2)

Ja wychodzę z domu
Ja wychodzę z domu

Ja wychodzę z domu
Ciemną nocą po kryjomu
Uciekam od żony
Jej gadaniem już znudzony
Jadę na milano
Poflirtować z młodą panną
Bo gdy nie ma Ciebie
Jestem jak bóg młody w niebie (x2)

Yours lazily.

Miłego weekendu! (Have a nice weekend!)

Ha

Ha Ha

Ha Ha Ha

Ha Ha Ha Ha

ZM,

Jared Gimbel

One thought on “Introducing: The Wonderful World of Disco Polo!

Leave a Reply

