The Hardest Thing: Doing what You ACTUALLY Want

Now I stand in a position that I never thought I would see.

As it turns out, the hardest thing in my language learning journey isn’t about putting in the effort or about actually learning or applying usage of the languages.

At this point, I can have almost any language I want as long as I put in the effort (as a matter of fact, so can anyone, even though I believe that most people would rather not know that).

The hardest thing is learning when I have to give up some of my languages in the event that I don’t feel enchanted by them the way that I used to.

There have been some languages that have continuously kept their appeal for me (the Scandinavian trifecta). There have been others that I have been a bit “force-fed” (Hebrew, of course, but also Spanish and German).

And then there are others, I feel, that I used to like but then, for some reason, starved them. Back in August I felt very comfortable conversing in Portuguese, but now I can’t bring myself to speak even simple sentences.

Two years ago, I was very enthusiastic about acquiring an entire collection of languages. Now, it seems, that the novelty has worn off…or so it seems.

I have to infuse my projects with new relationship energies. I have to ask myself what I genuinely want from my languages, and always ask if I really want to learn that language or if I feel peer-pressured into it.

Back in July I made the commitment to learning both French (the European variety) and Faroese. A half-a-year later and can read KVF and Röddin without problems and the pronunciation and grammar are non-issues. And French? Ummm….Duolingo snail progress, although I can muster some phrases. Goes without saying that I’m 30x better at Faroese than I am at French.

foroyar

What happened? I just simply followed what I wanted to.

And now I have to ask that question again: what do I want? And to learn the languages that I really want to, that sometimes mean detaching myself from old prospects. Whenever that happens, I usually feel that the language is begging for me to not let it go (even though it never goes completely), but then my time budgeting ensures that it happens anyway.

I know that I have been a comfort to readers as a language blogger who specializes in very rare specimens indeed. That is what I hope to continue doing, as I feel that the blind spot of too many other language bloggers is that they ignore the many little worlds that are to be found in places many people don’t even know exist.

So this means: I am going to abandon some of my other languages in favor of those that I am currently learning or possibly even others. There will be a revolution.

I pledge to keep bringing those little worlds to you. And to whomever else wants.

Leave a Reply

