Announcing : Arctic August 2014!

The cards have been dealt for the rest of my summer:
Until August 12th, I will be in Germany, France, and possibly a handful of other places. From Paris I will head back to the United States, back to Connecticut, my family homestead, where I will have a visit that is roughly one week.
Because I may find time to myself, I will devote that time to ensuring that I speak only one language at a time.
My primary goal is to improve my ability to speak Greenlandic and Northern Sami to fluency over the course of the week. Given that I have studied the grammar and the core vocabulary in detail, one strategy remains:
Speaking nothing but Greenlandic for one day (at least) and speak nothing but Northern Sami for another day (at least).
There may be some times in which I may need to “break” the vow, but, as odd as it may seem to some of you, speaking these languages have been some of my dreams.
I realized my dream to speak Yiddish in the Yiddish Farm Summer program by using a similar English-Free method. I felt difficult doing this in a classroom environment, but now that I may be “home alone” at point, now is the time to immerse myself.
If I have the equipment (and possibly one other person around the neighborhood that might be willing), there may also be some videos as well!
I hope that you are as excited for my “Arctic August” as I am!
sapmi
kalaallit nunaat

Leave a Reply

